Jamey Luvs ROCKS!

Posted on November 23, 2010 by

3


JAMEY LUVS    [By Gene Campbell]

Since leaving the world of manhood behind and coming out as a transgendered person in the Fall of 2004, well-known local performer Jamey Luvs – Trans Sisters – has never been happier.  “I came out in the Fall of 2004.  I got caught living a lie, and decided it wasn’t worth it any more.  The truth is better.”

Well-known to audiences as a man, she was with the punk-rock group, The Vogons, who formed sometime in the mid-80’s. “We recorded an album in 1986, called Kiss Me Under the Missile Toads, on Dressed To Kill Records. The reception was typical”, Luvs said, “about what we expected for an independent release.  We probably sold two-to-three hundred copies.  We were planning on releasing a second album, but it just never happened.  We were in the process of releasing a second album, and things just fell apart.”  She said that although they called themselves a rock-and-roll band, “We were basically punk.

Today, Luvs is no longer a man, but is ‘in transition’, and this has affected her music. “TransSisters was formed in 2006.  It came about because I was searching for trans-gendered support on the Internet because psychiatric support for transgendered people is hard to find – so I was looking for that. I stumbled onto this group called Transgender Support and Advice, an Internet group. It was full of girls like me who talk to each other and support each other. I saw this post – ‘Calling All Girls’, and I responded, and it was my band mate, Rita Sue Cobretta.”

Luvs contributed one number to the Gay Pride CD release, ‘Just Love’, which was launched during Gay Pride happenings in Fredericton in August.  The number, ‘Everybody Wants To Know’, answers crucial questions, the singer said.  She said she is often asked questions such as ‘Why do you wear that dress’, and she replies, “Why do you wear those pants?  After a while, you start to get flippant.”  She said she is also asked, “What have you got down there?  Sometimes I laugh about it”, but adds, that she put all the questions into the CD song.

She said since coming out as a woman, “I have a whole completely different audience now, as a trans-person.  I don’t see my old musical friends any more – they don’t call.  It affects my music now.  I see things different now than before. The material that I write about now is about my life now, and what it is like to be transgendered.”

She speaks openly and honestly about sex in the gay/bi/transgendered world.  “I don’t look at it as something between a man and a man.  I look at it instead, as something between two humans.”  Well said!

She says she is still in transition – still on hormone therapy.  “I’ll have to take estrogen for the rest of my life, even after the surgery, if I have it, although I’m not planning on it.”  She says she has no regrets, whatsoever, concerning her move. “I’m happier now than I have ever been in my life, even with all the crap that comes with it.  Now I have an endocrinologist on my team.  I’m still missing one vital doctor, and that’s a psychiatrist.  They are talking about sending me to Montreal. It really gets technical, this transition stuff. I often think, if I had only known when I was 16 – I did know – but I also knew that there was nothing I could do about it!”

Luvs and TransSisters played a brief role in the recent Jazz and Blues Festival, held in Fredericton, but would like to be doing more.  “We are always thinking about recording an album.  It’s just putting the project together, setting up the studio, writing the lyrics.”  She has thought, also, about doing a video, but says. “I have to do it all myself.  I have no help.  There is a real thing about getting commitment from people in Fredericton.”   She also performed at the local NB Aids Walk, held in Officers Square in downtown Fredericton, back in September.

If she could say anything about her life as a transgendered person, she said she would like to say, “I wish New Brunswick would come up to speed on transgender issues, as far as medical help goes.  There is very little support. It’s a serious issue for transgendered in this province.  Most have to leave.”

Still – she’s more than happy she made the transition. As she said earlier, “I have no regrets, whatsoever. I am happier now than I have ever been in my life.”

Catch her the next time she performs locally. You’ll be more than glad you did. She is, without a doubt, a credit to the Fredericton music scene.

Posted in: QTC